2010 Year In Review Part 1 – Grades

It’s that time of the year again to give you a full summary of the movies I’ve rated for 2010. This note will include my opinion as to why I unequivocally liked or atrociously hated a movie.

Also, I would like to announce the winners of the obviously biased Topy Awards. I may not be able to watch some of the possibly best movies of the year (The Town, Black Swan, The King’s Speech), but it can still be pushed to next year’s summary or I’ll just edit this note

Here is the list of movies rated ranked from lowest to highest.

—–

BAD

Knight And Day (WORST MOVIE OF THE YEAR) – D-

Starring: Tom Cruise, Cameron Diaz

And the award for the worst movie of the year goes to Knight And Day! Ironically, it’s Fox Company’s highest grossing movie of the year, but even that’s an understatement. This movie sucked not because of the actors, but the plot itself is utterly confusing. Not a single thing in the movie prevented me to fall asleep halfway through the 100 minutes of hell. Although Cruise tried his best to recover his torn image, the movie just didn’t fit him. Fortunately, he still has Mission Impossible 4, let’s hope it won’t fade like Narnia. So congratulations Knight and Day! You now accompany two other movies in the Worst list! (The Happening (2008), Dragonball: Evolution (2009))

Cop Out – The not so great duo of a white guy and a black guy (sorry for racism) – D

Starring: Bruce Willis, Tracy Morgan

I never liked Tracy Morgan, and the last few movies I’ve watched with Bruce Willis starring isn’t so good (Unbreakable was horrible, Surrogates was so-so, and Red was inconsistent), but the worst thing about this movie was there was actually no connection between the two; and nothing they say or do was funny. Good thing there was still some action scenes that kept me alive.

Leap Year – Good actress, annoying actor – D+

Starring: Amy Adams, He who must not be named

This really disappointed me. It had potential; Amy Adams was in it, AMY FREAKING ADAMS. She was great in Enchanted, here too. The plot was interesting, but seriously, why did they have to set it on Ireland? It became uninteresting because of that. And the lead actor, Matthew Goode (I just remembered his name), was the most annoying character I’ve ever seen in a movie. I don’t think it’s his fault, but the accent was just unforgivable. Little good, too much awful. Awful wins.

LegionWasn’t even surprised – D+

Starring: Well, if you know who Paul Bettany is, then, Paul Bettany

This is one of those films that you have no choice to watch since there was a 6-hour rotating blackout going around. I thought this was a thriller/horror type of film, but this just involves a lot of people dying and the characters were so forgettable that you won’t even care if they died. The story was bad, too. However, Eye Candy (Girls) and Guns saved this movie.

Shrek Forever After – Should’ve never been madeC-

Starring: Mike Myers, Cameron Diaz, Justin Timberlake, Eddie Murphy, Antonio Banderas

I watched this not remembering that I didn’t like Shrek 3, but I decided to give it another chance. RottenTomatoes gave this a higher grade that the third, but all I could say is, this is a perfect example of a money-stealing, capitalist industry. 3D is a BAD thing if there’s no equivalent 2D screening. Now, it’s either you watch, or don’t. Anyway, there’s still Puss in Boots on November 2011…

The Bounty Hunter Good Trailers, bad movieC-

Starring: Gerard Butler, Holy Crap! It’s Jennifer Aniston!

Jen An…Hmm…. Don’t know if she still has it, but Butler and Jen really didn’t glue together in my opinion. It had a funny story, but the scenes in between were a little to small and constricted. Maybe the director wasn’t good or maybe the script wasn’t beautifully edited. Whatever the case, this movie’s a rom-com that isn’t romantic or funny.

The Tooth Fairy – You can’t handle the Tooth! C

Starring: The Rock

Dwayne Johnson tried wrestling, action and thriller, but he still can’t get himself out of comedy and children’s movies. I can’t see why he would, since he’s actually funny and looks quirky being defenseless with big muscles. This one is just an example of being so silly, it’s more wacky than funny. It’s all good though, The Rock will always be the Rock. He’ll lose to paper, but he could still crush some scissors.

Date Night Good Actors, boring in betweenC

Starring: Steve Carrell, Tina Fey, Mark Wahlberg

This movie provides a few laughs. It involved nice acting, but most of the laughter were contributed by the supporting cast. Mark Wahlberg, for example, delivered one of the best Cameo’s ever, making me forgive him for what he did to my birthday (I watched The Happening, it sucked). Overall, it was too long to keep me interested with the whole thing.

Camp Rock 2 – I’m 16, I could still watch this, right?C

Starring: Demi Lovato (STILL LOVES), Joe Jonas

After watching this, the first thing I could say was “This is not High School Musical”. Sure, it was also cheesy like all other Disney movies, but it made me remember that if you’re watching a movie, not necessarily interesting, but involves actors who seem interesting, you’d still want to know what happens. This movie’s not as good as the first, but at least I know what happened. Poor Demi. That’s all I could say

——

AVERAGE

Planet 51 – Generic Animation C+

Starring: Dwayne “THE ROCK” Johnson

Did I tell you I like watching The Rock’s movies? This was a nice effort by Universal studios, but it seems that they have a long way to go if they want to match Pixar and DreamWorks animations. Story was okay, animation was great, but they still can’t make viewers feel the emotions of the characters.

Valentine’s Day – Don’t act, Taylor C+

Starring: A lot of actors

I’m talking about Swift Taylor, not Lautner Taylor, because I absolutely adore Mr. Lautner. Catch him on Stretch Armstong, Abduction, and the final 2 Twilight installments (Part 1, Part 2). If it wasn’t for the ensemble cast, the movie could have fared worse. The storyline could have been better, as it seemed the movie was just fragments of scenes compiled into a 90-minute film

Percy Jackson and the Lightning Thief – No Sequels C+

Starring: Logan Lermann

I didn’t read the book, so I thought the story was kind of in a middle of “Kiddie” and “Teen” movies. This feels more like a movie made for the small screen than an actual theatrical release. There were some fun parts too, however, it didn’t earn enough money to guarantee a sequel.

Clash of the Titans – 2nd most disappointing movie of all timeC+

Starring: Sam Worthington, Gemma Arterton, Liam Neeson

Clash of The Titans was one of the few classics that I actually liked. Yes, the effects were corny and the visuals weren’t that great, but it’s better than having great effects with such a stupid storyline. I really expected a lot from the movie. I wanted it to retell the story as close to the original, but instead we get a movie which Mr. Worthington called “a popcorn flick”. If I wanted a popcorn flick, I wouldn’t have chosen this movie. And to think I really wanted Mr. Worthington to shine…tsk x3…

Prince of Persia: Sands of Time – The most disappointing movie of all timeC+

Starring: Jake Gyllenhall, Gemma Arterton

Oh look! It’s Gemma Arterton again, and again, she banks another disappointing movie. I really loved the game, and I thought the franchise had a lot of potential. I really think Jerry Bruckheimer settled to earn cash for this one. It was very disappointing. It was the movie I anticipated the most for 2010, and it left me speechless. I just couldn’t believe they destroyed a movie that could’ve been better. Now I know how people feel when they loved the Twilight books and watched the first movie in disgust.

The Sorcerer’s Apprentice – Another Jerry Bruckheimer cash grabC+

Starring: Nicolas Cage, Monica Belucci, Jay Baruchel, Teresa Palmer

It seems that Disney lost quite a huge sum of money due to Prince of Persia and this one. Actually, I liked this one better. The story was so-so, but the actors were really feeling their roles. Nicolas Cage, as tiring as his face is, is actually nice to look at with his robe; and coming from a very hot How To Train Your Dragon, Jay Baruchel is actually hilarious. Teresa Palmer, oohlala… Hehe, I’ve been watching her since Bedtime Stories.

Resident Evil Afterlife – With the 3D Technology used in AvatarC+

Starring: Milla Jovovich, Ali Larter, Wentworth Miller

I liked Resident Evil Extinction, and watching this in 3D really made this movie a lot less boring as it had a lot to offer, even though it was a live action film. The Slow-mo cameras made the 3D better but it also made the movie draggy in a lot of parts. Good thing there was actually a lot of scenes in the movie, which didn’t make it monotonous. After watching the fourth, I think we could expect a Fifth considering they left us with a cliffhanger by the end. Overall, it’s the best Video Game Adaptation of the year, if only because it had no competition.

——–

GOOD

Dear John I am uglyB-

Starring: Amanda Seyfried, Channing Tatum

I like the actor, not the actress. That’s the only flaw of the movie in my opinion. Both acted well, but I just can’t stand Seyfried. At least the story’s interesting enough. I didn’t read the movie, so I didn’t actually connect with the film whole-heartedly. It’s just another good but forgettable film.

The Book Of Eli – A Little SlowB-

Starring: Denzel Washington, Mila Kunis

This movie really rocked. Those constrained action scenes could’ve been better, but it was actually the best moments of the film. When it came to the slow part, the conversations, everything became draggy and boring. Nevertheless, it’s worthwhile to watch.

The Imaginarium of Dr. Parnassus – Sometimes, you don’t need to understand everything B-

Starring: Heath Ledger, Jude Law, Johnny Depp

Ledger’s final film didn’t really connect with the average moviegoer, but it was a fun film while it lasted. The plot was a little weird, and there were a lot of things I didn’t understand. I liked how they managed to change the movie by replacing Heath with Jude Law and Johnny Depp. It blended a lot with the whole story. That, I can appreciate.

Robin Hood – A Robin Hood movie that is not exactly a Robin Hood movieB-

Starring: Russell Crowe, Cate Blanchett

This movie is not what you expect it would be. No one was stealing gold from the rich. This was basically a prequel to the whole Robin Hood series.  Crowe and Blanchett fit the role perfectly; I expected quite a dark movie, but there were some parts that were pointless. The film could’ve also been shortened.

Megamind – Not so good in 3D B-

Starring: Brad Pitt, Will Farrell, Tina Fey

I’m telling you, watching animated movies in 3d is total BULLSHIT. Animation is already in 3D and nothing is added to the quality of the film. Megamind is a movie that gave me a bad mood since no cinemas released the movie which was not in 3d. However, I really wanted to watch this movie. So, I paid an extra P140 to see it. And the result? Bad. I should’ve watched in in 2d. Not because it sucked, but it wasn’t good enough to pay extra money. The whole story was a bit predictable, although it also gave a few laughs here and there.

Salt – And PepperB-

Starring: Angelina Jolie

Who is Salt? I don’t know. After watching it 2 months ago, I hardly remembered anything. Salt was an action movie that must be enjoyed while it last. It’s not necessarily a movie that you’ll remember for a long time, but it’s enough to give viewers thrills while waiting for a slew of new movies to arrive.

The Other Guys – Once again, I have proved that American comedy does not translate equal humor to PinoysB-

Starring: Will Farrell, Mark Wahlberg, Samuel L. Jackson, Dwayne Johnson

The other guys were fun and exciting, but it didn’t last long. The Rock and Samuel L. Jackson’s cameo was just as humorous as Wahlberg in date night, but it wasn’t enough to maintain the fun factor of the film. Some punch lines were funny, some were not. It’s a bit of a hit and miss. The film just happened to have a few more hits than misses.

Legend of the Guardians: The Owls of Ga’Hoole – Zack Snyder’s streak of weird movies continues B-

Starring: ????

Director of Watchmen, 300, Sucker Punch and an upcoming Supeman Movie, Zack Snyder’s movies are technically hit and miss. Ga’Hoole is somewhere in the middle. I admire his attempt to use anthropomorphic characters to tell a story. This is not your average kid film, it’s a little dark and very imaginative. It just doesn’t pique my interest too much.

Unstoppable – Chris Pine is still fine B-

Starring: Denzel Washington, Chris Pine

Unstoppable has a lot of things you may not understand, especially if you didn’t live your life riding the train. It’s a bit thrilling, but it has a tendency to drag you down like an unmanned freight train. Denzel is still himself, and Pine is still the evolving actor he deserves to be.

Step Up 3D – Don’t bring your brain while watching B-

Starring: ???? Moose?

Don’t even think about judging this movie’s script, acting or anything related to typical cinema. This movie offers none of the above. All you need to do is sit back, relax, and be wowed by the sick dance moves the film’s got to offer. The final scene, just like Step Up 2, was epic.

Inglorious Basterds – Brad, pahawak naman ng bigote o! – B-

Starring: Brad Pitt, Diane Kruger, Christoph Waltz

The Oscars snubbed it, but it turned out to be a fan favorite among Director Quintin Tarentino’s creations. Basterds was released January 2010 in the Phils, so this movie is included in the list. Christoph Waltz was fantastic as the antagonist.

The Hurt Locker – Overrated B-

Starring: Jeremy Renner

This movie did not deserve a Best Picture or Best Director win at the Oscars. If Avatar can’t win, then this mustn’t too. Yes, it’s quite good, but it isn’t the great thrilling war movie that critics proclaimed. It’s just, simply, an OK film that delivers enough action to pass time by.

Twilight Saga: Eclipse – Third time’s the charm – B

Starring: Robert Pattinson, Kristen Stewart, Taylor Lautner,

Who knew these actors were gonna be so popular today, RP and KS doesn’t really have the star factor to pull the audiences in other movies, but Taylor Lautner shows promise. The third movie, which is the funniest, and less boring of the three, finally gets a thumbs up from me. I hope Bill Condon has what it takes to turn the franchise around into something it should’ve been….. like the Lord of the Rings and Harry Potter.

From Paris With Love – John Travolta in a fat suit and isn’t dancing, fun! B

Starring: John Travolta

This was one big, exciting action film! The scenes were certainly implausible, but who cares? Maximum pleasure delivered! This was one of the best fast-paced, point and shoot movies I’ve seen in a while.

The A-Team – There may be no Plan B, but it definitely deserves a…B

Starring: Liam Neeson, Bradley Cooper, Jessica Beil

This movie looked more like a TV Show than a full-fledged movie. Just like the film above, this movie delivers enough explosions to stimulate the people’s interest. The script is surely stupid, but trust me, this 90-minute gun fest is a good distraction from the outside world.

Easy A – From Meanie to SluttyB

Starring: Emma Stone, Penn Badgely

Emma Stone proved that she has what it takes to attract the crowd, and she sure is a treat to watch. It’s fascinating how the movie tries to talk about a woman trying to be a slut, but isn’t actually sleazy. The film isn’t a perfect A though, as there were some uninteresting parts.

Sherlock Holmes – Classic HolmesB+

Starring: Robert Downey, Jr., Jude Law, Rachel McAdams

I didn’t expect RDJ and Jude Law to be a good duo. Both guys did so well portraying their characters that it almost seemed like they really are Holmes and Watson. It’s also nice to have a sequel coming out next year, but the one problem I have with the movie was that Holmes was too strong, as opposed to his weaker form in the original book. Whatever, no biggie.

The Blind Side – Big fan of the movie, not so much with American FootballB+

Starring: Sandra Bullock

And the award goes to….SANDRA BULLOCK!!! I was mum about her Oscar win; I really didn’t know if she deserved it or not. Nevertheless, her acting chops were not the only good thing, the cast altogether was brilliant. The movie gave me goosebumps and I was sympathetic to Michael, and his journey from being a battered child to a football star. It was based on a true story, so I really felt like the movie was real. Not to mention Lily Collins (Who stars with Taylor Lautner on upcoming film, Abduction) was good eye candy.

—–

GREAT

Alice In Wonderland – Why the hell did I watch this movie 4 times? – B+

Starring: Mia Wasikowska, Johnny Depp, Helena Bonham Carter

After watching the film countless times due to ticket prices being only P50 (yes, Koronadal City is a movie haven), I probably didn’t miss a single detail. Alice was indeed a wonder, the visual effects could battle Tron and Harry Potter for the Oscar, but the real deal in the movie was Mia Wasikowska, a fresh face that happened to fit Alice perfectly. And let us not forget the indomitable Johnny Depp, whose Mad Hatter really gave me the chills, and the laughs. Again this movie focused more of effects than the story, but it was enough to give the movie a reboot and a sure sequel.

Iron Man 2 – My First IMAX Experience – B+

Starring: Robert Downey, Jr., Gwyneth Paltrow, Don Cheadle, Samuel L. Jackson, Scarlett Johannsen

Robert Downey’s recent films have been consistently good since the first Iron Man. In this follow-up, he’s still the same old narcissistic, carefree and childish Tony Stark, but the Iron Man suit didn’t shine as much as the first one. Seeing the movie on IMAX, I had no problem watching through the movie, but it didn’t wow me enough to consider this as extraordinary as the first.

Toy Story 3 – Highest grossing movie of 2010 – B+

Starring: Tom Hanks

Will Pixar go FTW this year, or will the “3” in the title hurt its chances? That’s a big question considering the franchise isn’t really my favorite among the Pixar movies. It was consistently funny, you could hear the whole crowd laughing in the theater, but something was just missing. It wasn’t the story, it wasn’t the fun, I really didn’t know. All I knew is that the movie wasn’t the best and I’m that excited to see it again.

Despicable Me – Possible third party? – B+

Starring: Steve Carrell

Universal Pictures answered the doubts of many about being makers of generic animated movies. Despicable Me, a cute, unique film, manages to be worthy enough to challenge Pixar and Dreamworks Animations. With the ever so cute minions, the cheerful kids, and the Carrell-voiced Gru, nothing went wrong. And considering it’s a low-budget film, the animation was quite good. I had a good time in the theaters and I hope Universal could keep this up.

Harry Potter and The Deathly Hallows Part 1My third favorite Potter flick next to Goblet and Half-BloodB+

Starring: Daniel Radcliffe, Rupert Grint, Emma Watson

Never fear, Potter is here! Move along Saw and Twilight, HP 7 part 1 is a good example of how you can create a sixth sequel, and turns out great. The only franchise to match that feat is Star Wars, and that’s saying a lot. HP is one of the only few franchises that stays true to its roots, and I feel bittersweet that we’re only one movie away until it’s all over. Quick JK Rowling! Make Books 8, 9, and 10!

—-

FANTASTIC

Kick-Ass – Funniest movie of the year! – A-

Starring: Aaron Johnston, Nicholas Cage, Chloe Moretz

Have you ever laughed so hard through out a whole movie that you cried? Well, I did in Kick-Ass. It was certainly a brutal and bloody movie. Aaron Johnston was great as Kick-ass, Nicholas Cage was amazing as big daddy, and how could we forget the 12-year-old Chloe Moretz? HIT GIRL!!! Damn! I’ve never seen a 12-year old kid murder thugs like a pro. This was certainly one of the most unique and (amazingly) deep comedy flick I’ve seen. There’s nothing like it, but it’s easy to like it. That’s it, I’m watching it again!

Scott Pilgrim Vs. The World – FUNnest movie of the year! – A

Starring: Michael Cera, Mary Elizabeth Winstead

There is nothing to hate in this film. You have director Edgar Wright treating the comic fans, Michael Cera and Mary Elizabeth Winstead who were alluring and unbelievable, Anna Kendrick (and whoever played Knives Chau) bringing extra laughs, and of course, the seven evil exes who stood out on their own (especially Brandon Routh and Chris Evans). It may not be the funniest movie of the year, but I tell you, I had the most fun watching this movie in a long time. It will bring out the KID in you once more. And the effects that made the film seem like a video game is unforgettable. Ciao, Knives.

Tron Legacy – Not the number 1 film after all – A

Starring: Garett Hedlund, Jeff Bridges, Olivia Wilde

If Tron battled Avatar for best effects, Tron could win by a thread. The film takes 3D and CGI to the next level just like the first film. Hedlund, Brides and Wilde were captivating, but whatever they do they still couldn’t save the script. It was embarrassing and too complicated that it became messy and didn’t make sense. We could forgive the director, but all of those issues could be easily forgotten by just buckling up and watching the unbelievable light cycle scene. It’s 3D at it’s best, and ain’t no mountain high enough that could beat it.

Inception – A dream, within a dream, is reality?A

Starring: Leonardo DiCaprio

Leo, leo, leo, when will you ever shoot a comedy? Sometimes a fresh movie could be hampered by an old face. I’m not saying Leo was bad in the film, I just wanted the film to be a bit more unique. This was certainly one of the best movies I’ve seen in a while, script-wise. Director Christopher Nolan has outdone himself once again, and he’s looking to do it one more time with Batman 3. Inception, a movie Nolan created himself, may have a chance to win Best Oscar. It has everything a movie needs. Great script, great actors, great acting, great effects, great sound, etc… But is it Great enough to be the best? We’ll see

How To Train Your Dragon – What can I say? I’m still a kid! – A

Starring: Jay Baruchel, Gerard Butler

Best animated movie I’ve ever seen, Period. HTTYD was so good that DreamWorks now plan to make three more sequels! I just hope they won’t dumb down the franchise like Shrek. Looking at its box-office numbers, only few saw it during its opening weekend, but my oh my, people came back and brought a few more friends with them to watch it. Even I have invited some and watched the film four times (It only cost me P180, go Koronadal!). HTTYD had something I didn’t feel in the other four movies below…emotion. While other movies were big and unique, this one was just an underdog trying to make its wings fly. The movie had really left a mark on me. 10 years from now, when I feel stressed, lonely or depressed, I’ll try to watch this movie again and keep in mind that when you’re an underdog, everything is still possible. Congratulations Dragon, you’re now at the top of the food chain.

And finally, the Movie of the Year

1.) The Social Network – Impeccable – A+

Starring: Jesse Eisenberg, Andrew Garfield, Rooney Mara, Justin Timberlake

Undeniably the film of the decade, The Social Network forgets everything about changing the landscape of movies based on captivating visuals and believable effects, but hits the perfect note on all other elements. The Script – beautiful; The Direction and Pacing – Unbelievable; The Actors – Amazing. Everything was Oscar worthy, and it’s definitely worthy of being number one on my list.

2 thoughts on “2010 Year In Review Part 1 – Grades

Leave a Reply

