US Box Office Results Jan 21-23, 2011

Oh Dear Lord, January 2011 is horrible for the box-office! This week is 30% below last year’s tally. How Sad. Anyway, at least I got the number 1 spot right. Let’s break down the box office results!

No Strings Attached

1.) No Strings Attached – I don’t know who’s stronger in the Box Office, Ashton Kutcher or Natalie Portman? For me, I think Portman. But I think moviegoers chose this film for its R-Rated Content rather than the stars. But Portman’s quite rare in rom-coms though. NEW ENTRY

Predicted Outcome: Rank 1, $22.1M

Actual Gross: $20.3M

Total Gross: $20.3M

2.) The Green Hornet – I was supposed to peg this film at number 1 but I decided to switch since I don’t think people were that excited about this film. This movie has a pretty decent run, but it would need some sort of International Box-Office Luck to catch up on its budget. WEEK 2

Predicted Outcome: Rank 2, $19.9M

Actual Gross: $18.1M

Total Gross: $63.4M

3.) The Dilemma – Weird, this film didn’t crash or burn this week. I guess people still didn’t learn their lesson. Here, let me tell you again, this movie sucks. WEEK 2

Predicted Outcome: Rank 4, $8.8M

Actual Gross: $9.7M

Total Gross: $33.4M

4.) The King’s Speech – Among the potential Oscar nominees in the top 10, this one fell the most. But a 27% drop isn’t actually considered bad news. WEEK 9

Predicted Outcome: Rank 3, $9M

Actual Gross: $9.2M

Total Gross: $58.6M

5.) True Grit – $3M more and this movie will out-gross Little Fockers. That means this one will bump that movie one spot lower in the final 2010 tally. WEEK 5

Predicted Outcome: Rank 5, $8.6M

Actual Gross: $8M

Total Gross: $138.6M

6.) Black Swan – This is one of two movies I would like to watch right now, the other one being Tangled. Good job for Natalie Portman, she has two movies in the top 6 and four more movies out in the first 6 months of the year. WEEK 8

Predicted Outcome: Rank 6, $7.8M

Actual Gross: $6.2M

Total Gross: $83.6M

7.) The Fighter – BINGO! I got 5 out of 7 correct this week! I expected Golden Globe winners to receive a slight bump in their grosses this week, but I turned out to be wrong. In fact, none of the movies this week had a positive increase.  WEEK 7

Predicted Outcome: Rank 7, $4.7M

Actual Gross: $4.5M

Total Gross: $73.0M

Leave a Reply

