Box Office Results March 11-13, 2011

Box-office totals this week is 12% lower than the same weekend last year. Thanks to this, 2011 is now trailing the year-to-date grosses of the past 4 years. And I don’t think it will get better anytime soon.

P.S. Movies premiering this week are in ALL CAPS

Number One Movie Predicted Correctly: 3 Weeks in a Row

Number of Times I Nailed The Top 7: 0

Scene from Battle: LA

1.) BATTLE: LOS ANGELES – 3 weeks in a row, I’ve correctly predicted the number one film! Next week will be a tough one though, as three films open with an average of 2500 theaters apiece. None of them has big buzz, but I guess Jake Gyllenhall will take the win. Which movie is it? Well, I guess you’re just gonna have to wait to find out. For Battle: LA, it performed better than I expected and is looking quite good with its supposed $70M budget. Too bad they left the story out, though.

Predicted Outcome: Rank 1, $30.0M

Actual Gross: $36.0M

Total Gross: $36.0M

2.) Rango – All hail Johnny Depp, as his animated movie managed to drop at a smaller rate than what most people expected. People kept saying this would fail because it wasn’t intended for the kids, but I guess in Rango’s defense, you could say that not all animated movies are for kids. Good thing this movie found its audience. P.S. Now that Gnomeo and Juliet is out of the running, which movie will be first to earn $100M? This, or Just Go With It?

Predicted Outcome: Rank 2, $23.0M

Actual Gross: $23.0M (NAILED IT!)

Total Gross: $68.7M

3.) Red Riding Hood – Kaboom! My streak ends at two. I didn’t expect the male crowd to be interested in this movie, and after the short stint on American Idol, I at least prepared for this one to fare well. Although I predicted this to be at #4, this actually earned less than what I expected, (Which means that the #3 movie bombed).

Predicted Outcome: Rank 4, $16.0M

Actual Gross: $14.1M

Total Gross: $14.1M

4.) The Adjustment Bureau – Wait a minute, where’s my #3 movie? Does it mean that it actually performed worse than the second week of the Adjustment Bureau? My God! This is horrible! Solid 45% drop for this one though.

Predicted Outcome: Rank 5, $13.0M

Actual Gross: $11.5M

Total Gross: $38.5M

5.) MARS NEEDS MOMS – that $150M budget is sure looking VERY BAD right now, as this movie mustered less than $7M to become one of the worst openings for a wide release and the worst opening yet for a well-marketed 3D movie. Maybe 3D will die soon, the only question left is when.

Predicted Outcome: Rank 3, $16.5M

Actual Gross: $6.8M

Total Gross: $6.8M

6.) Hall Pass – I have nothing to say about this movie. I haven’t watch is yet and I don’t have any interest seeing it.

Predicted Outcome: Rank 6, $6.0M

Actual Gross: $5.1M

Total Gross: $34.9M

7.) Beastly – Alex Pettyfer is on a roll as he’s about to sign up for the upcoming Hunger Games adaptation with possible lead actress Jennifer Lawrence. I haven’t read the book but considering a lot of people are waiting for it, I might have to.

Predicted Outcome: Rank 7, $5.2M

Actual Gross: $5.1M

Total Gross: $16.9M

Predicted Outcome: Rank

Actual Gross: $

Total Gross: $

Leave a Reply

