Box Office Predictions for March 18-20, 2011

I apologize for being a little late with my posts, exams have been bugging me. To make up for lost time, I’ll be attaching a picture for every new movie released for the week. Thank you for being a part of my blog!

Last Week’s Worldwide Box Office Mojo Derby Rank: 91st with 80.464% Accuracy

Battle: Los Angeles

1.) Battle: Los Angeles – $18.0M – There will be three new movies for the week and each one could hit number 1. I’m not buying that so I’ll stick with this movie. Word-of-mouth has been exceptionally BAD. But I think there are others who would still want to catch this in theaters, unless that Japan Tsunami will discourage people from watching disaster-war movies.

Limitless

2.) LIMITLESS – $16.7M – I don’t know why, but I’m not sure if this will earn higher than what I’m expecting. It stars Bradley Cooper, Robert De Niro and Abbie Cornish, good actors but I don’t think awareness is high. Plus, it’s March Madness!

3.) PAUL – $15.0M – First there was Shaun of the Dead, then there was Hot Fuzz. Now, for the third time, Simon Pegg and Nick Frost will partner up with the same actors for the first two movies (Plus Seth Rogen) for Paul, a somewhat refreshing take for the recently-overcrowding Sci-Fi genre. Although early reviews say it wasn’t as good as the other two movies, I think this will become the highest grossing from the three (Updated: Lately I’m not so sure, I think this will slip to 5th place)

4.) Rango – $14.3M – Compared to How To Train Your Dragon (Which is my favorite animated movie of 2010, and yes, not Toy Story), Rango is dropping a little steeper. Expect this one to be the first $100M grosser for the year, as for final numbers I guess somewhere around the $140-$160M mark should be right.

The Lincoln Lawyer

5.) THE LINCOLN LAWYER – $12.0M – This could trade places with Paul. I’m not exactly a fan of dramas about lawsuits and cases, but I think this will find a niche audience. Plus, Matthew McConaughey will sure be a nice eye-candy for wives who’ll get dragged by their husbands to see this movie.

6.) Red Riding Hood – $6.6M – Even a short stint on American Idol didn’t attract the audience they expected. This is poised to bleed fast, though I’m being a little kind with my prediction. We’re 3 months into 2011 and we still don’t have a winning weekend against last year.

7.) The Adjustment Bureau – $6.4M – Rounding out the top 7 is this movie, which could slide to 6th place if Red Riding Hood drops big. I don’t have anything to say about this movie. Studios aren’t too happy of the results, but for them it’s good enough.

 

Leave a Reply

