Anticipation Station Part 2: Watch Out For 2011’s May Movie Madness

It’s almost May and Hollywood is getting ready to release the big guns. The biggest blockbusters usually open between April to August, so if you still don’t know which movies to watch, I’ll help you by giving a full summary of what’s to come for the month of May

Last year, it was Iron Man ($128M opening) who started the May-hem, and this year it will be one of his partners for the upcoming Avengers movie next year. But aside from Tony Stark, May didn’t have much left to offer. Shrek 4 ($70M), Robin Hood ($36M), Sex And The City ($31M) and Prince of Persia ($30M) were disappointing box-office-wise and quality-wise.

With only about 7 big movies coming out next month, each movie has to step up in order for the month to be considered a success. Let’s just hope we’ll enjoy the movies that we paid for. (Please, stop piracy)

LET’S START THE LIST WITH….

1.) THOR



The powerful but arrogant warrior Thor is cast out of the fantastic realm of Asgard and sent to live amongst humans on Earth, where he soon becomes one of their finest defenders.

Starring: Chris Hemsworth (Star Trek), Natalie Portman (Black Swan), Anthony Hopkins (Beowulf), Jeremy Renner (The Hurt Locker), Kat Dennings (Nick and Norah’s Infinite Playlist)

Comments: This movie actually had some bad buzz earlier this year. Some people criticized the costume & the posters and expected this movie to be a “corny” superhero film. Not a lot of people are familiar with Thor compared to Spider-Man and Iron Man, but I guess people would be willing to give this one a shot. I mean, he IS part of the Avengers. Plus it has the advantage of being the first blockbuster movie out this summer. Plus, that early 90% fresh rating has got to calm fanatics down. It’s already a given that I’ll want to watch this. Not in 3D or IMAX though.

Anticipation Level: 8/10


2.) SOMETHING BORROWED


Friendships are tested and secrets come to the surface when terminally single Rachel falls for Dex, her best friend Darcy’s fiancé.

Starring: Kate Hudson (Bride Wars), Ginnifer Goodwin (He’s Just Not That Into You), John Krasinski (The Office), Colin Egglesfield

Comments: Hoping to get some counter-programming going on against Thor is this movie. I admit I’ve never heard of this movie until I started researching for this blog entry, but after watching the trailer I can say that I’m kinda interested and I’m still open to watching this movie. I hardly see John Krasinski in the big screen so I’m interested in what he has to offer. I’m not a big fan of Hudson and Goodwin though.

Anticipation Level: 4/10


3.) BRIDESMAIDS

Annie (Kristen Wiig), is a maid of honor whose life unravels as she leads her best friend, Lillian (Maya Rudolph), and a group of colorful bridesmaids (Rose Byrne, Melissa McCarthy, Wendi McLendon-Covey and Ellie Kemper) on a wild ride down the road to matrimony. Annie’s life is a mess. But when she finds out her lifetime best friend is engaged, she simply must serve as Lillian’s maid of honor. Though lovelorn and broke, Annie bluffs her way through the expensive and bizarre rituals. With one chance to get it perfect, she’ll show Lillian and her bridesmaids just how far you’ll go for someone you love.

Starring: Rose Byrne (Get Him To The Greek), John Hamm (Mad Men), Kristen Wiig (How To Train Your Dragon), Chris O’Dowd (Gulliver’s Travels)

Comments: I’ve also never heard of this movie until today. I saw that Judd Apatow’s attached to this film, so that’s plus points for me. But the kinda-unknown cast is quite discouraging for me. The movie looks like a female version of the Hangover, but it’s not quite appealing enough for me to be enticed to see this movie.

Anticipation Level: 1/10


4.) PRIEST

Priest, a post-apocalyptic sci-fi thriller, is set in an alternate world — one ravaged by centuries of war between man and vampires. The story revolves around a legendary Warrior Priest from the last Vampire War who now lives in obscurity among the other downtrodden human inhabitants in walled-in dystopian cities ruled by the Church. When his niece is abducted by a murderous pack of vampires, Priest breaks his sacred vows to venture out on a quest to find her before they turn her into one of them. He is joined on his crusade by his niece’s boyfriend, a trigger-fingered young wasteland sheriff, and a former Warrior Priestess who possesses otherworldly fighting skills.

Starring: Lily Collins (The Blind Side), Cam Gigandet (Easy A), Paul Bettany (Legion), Karl Urban (Star Trek), Maggie Q (Nikita), Christopher Plummer (Up)

Comments: I’m undecided as to whether I’ll see this movie or not. It stars Paul Bettany, whose role in this movie is almost similar to his other movie Legion, and I didn’t like it. The only good thing about this movie is that it stars the lovely Lily Collins, a girl that I discovered on The Blind Side. I want to see her acting chops before seeing Abduction, her movie with Taylor Lautner. It also looks a lot more expensive to make than Legion. Whatever my decision is, I won’t watch this in 3D.

Anticipation Level: 5/10


5.) PIRATES OF THE CARIBBEAN: ON STRANGER TIDES

Captain Jack Sparrow (Depp) crosses paths with a woman from his past (Cruz), and he’s not sure if it’s love — or if she’s a ruthless con artist who’s using him to find the fabled Fountain of Youth. When she forces him aboard the Queen Anne’s Revenge, the ship of the formidable pirate Blackbeard (McShane), Jack finds himself on an unexpected adventure in which he doesn’t know who to fear more: Blackbeard or the woman from his past.

Starring: Johnny Depp (Rango), Penelope Cruz (Vicky Christina Barcelona), Geoffrey Rush (The King’s Speech), Ian McShane (Kung Fu Panda), Sam Claflin, Astrid Berges-Frisbey, Richard Griffiths (Harry Potter), Judi Dench (Quantum of Solace), Kieth Richards (Pirates of The Carribean 3)

Comments: The latter half of May looks more promising as the new movies are all sequels. The first one, Pirates, is the first PotC movie without Kiera Knightley and Orlando Bloom. As much as I miss the couple, I think that it is indeed better to leave their story behind and set forth to a new journey. Penelope Cruz is a good addition, though I don’t think she has better sex appeal than Knightley, and it’s interesting to learn more about Captain Jack Sparrow’s history. I’ll watch this one for sure, but I’m not sure if I’ll catch this in 3D. Also, keep in mind that this is the only franchise that I have rated A- and above. Harry Potter and the Lord of the Rings aren’t exactly my faves.

Anticipation Level: 9/10


6.) THE HANGOVER PART II

Phil, Stu, and Alan travel to Bangkok for Stu’s wedding only to find themselves in another post-blackout misadventure.

Starring: Bradley Cooper (The A-Team), Zach Galifianakis (Due Date), Ed Helms (The Office), Justin Bartha (National Treasure), Ken Jeong (Community), Jamie Chung (Sucker Punch), Nick Cassavetes (Face/Off), Todd Phillips (Due Date), Mike Tyson

Comment: After watching the trailer I already believe that it’s better than the first one. I didn’t enjoy watching the first movie as much since I was with my mom, but now that I have more freedom in college I’m going to watch this with some buddies and have fun all the way! I don’t know what Hollywood was thinking putting this against Kung Fu Panda on the same weekend, but I guess both can benefit from each other since they’re targeting different demographics. Expect the Panda to win the weekend though.

Anticipation Level: 8/10


7.) KUNG FU PANDA 2

Po joins forces with a group of new kung-fu masters to take on an old enemy with a deadly new weapon.

Starring: Jack Black (Tropic Thunder), Seth Rogen (The Green Hornet), Angelina Jolie (Salt), Gary Oldman (Harry Potter), Jackie Chan (Rush Hour), Jean Claude Van Damme (JCVD), Dustin Hoffman (Little Fockers), Lucy Liu (Charlie’s Angels), David Cross (Megamind), Michelle Yeoh (Memoirs of a Geisha)

Comments: The final blockbuster for May leaves us wanting more. It was announced that Kung Fu Panda would be getting 5 more sequels after this one so expect the panda to return to the big screen withing the next 13 years. All I have to say about this movie is that…the movie could’ve been more epic if it wasn’t an animated movie. Look at the cast, have you ever seen a live action movie starring Black, Rogen, Jolie, Oldman, Chan, JCVD, Hoffman, Liu, Cross and Yeoh? I mean, that’s even more epic than the Expendables! Nevertheless, KFP isn’t my favorite animated franchise but I’ll still give this one a shot…but NOT IN 3D. Like I said, 3D in animated movies is garbage and a waste of money.

Anticipation Level: 7/10


So that’s it. There may only be 7 movies out for the month, but I’m telling you, I bet most of them are better than all movies in the first 4 months combined.

It’s time for another poll! Pick THREE movies that you would want to watch and see if you have the same interests as the others!

Since a lot of you checked my article out, I’ve decided to extend the list until August, which means Anticipation Station will have 4 parts. Stay tuned, and thank you!

2 thoughts on “Anticipation Station Part 2: Watch Out For 2011’s May Movie Madness

  1. I can’t believe you HP isn’t your fave. Hahaha. Anyway, I watched Hangover I here again and it’s funnier for me! Hahaha. I really can’t wait for Hangover II. I hope it tops the box office Hihihi!

    1. I love HP. I meant that not all 7 movies ended up an A- and above as compared to Pirates’ three installments. But that’s what happens when a franchise has 8 parts. For the record, here are my ratings:

      Sorcerer’s Stone: A-
      Chamber of Secrets: B
      Prisoner of Azkaban: A-
      Goblet of Fire: A
      Order of The Phoenix: B
      Half-Blood Prince: B+
      Deathly Hallows Part 1: B+

Leave a Reply

