220th Movie Review: The Truman Show (1998)

Jim Carrey in The Truman Show

Absolutely unique, interesting and well-thought of

The Truman Show is something I never expected to see. Now I regret that I haven’t watched this movie until now. At first I thought it was just a retelling of ex-US president Harry S. Truman’s life, but good thing I checked this out at Rottentomatoes, or else I may have never seen this absolutely intelligent film that breaks the barrier between private and public life.

In this movie, Truman (Jim Carrey) is a man whose life is a fake one… The place he lives is in fact a big studio with hidden cameras everywhere, and all his friends and people around him, are actors who play their roles in the most popular TV-series in the world: The Truman Show. Truman thinks that he is an ordinary man with an ordinary life and has no idea about how he is exploited. Until one day… he finds out everything.Written by Chris Makrozapholous

I felt like I was watching Big Brother set in a big city. I was amused by how the actors around Truman taped him with their hidden cameras. Jim Carrey is fun to watch while portraying Truman as he tries to figure out what’s actually going on around him. He desperately tried to find some clues, and he found them. After that, it was a non-stop challenge for the whole cast as they prevented him from knowing the truth.

You could say that everything that happened in his life occurred to prevent him from leaving the studio (I meant the ISLAND). That’s what fascinates me the most about this film. Where the hell did the studio get their money from to create a studio as big as a small town? The whole show could’ve been very expensive to produce. You’ll also have to pay for the citizens (more like NPC’s) living in the area. How in the world was a company able to adopt an unwanted child without any backlash from human rights and child abuse supporters? I mean, Truman basically lived his whole life without being paid, and the show went on to air for almost 30 YEARS!

Nevertheless, the whole point of the show was to keep you interested. And my, oh my, just as people watching the Truman Show were eager to find out what would happen to him next, so was I. I’m not gonna spoil the ending, but I can say that it ended up being a happy one for Truman. For me though, I wanted to see more of what happens in his life, especially since there’s a GIRL waiting for him in the — oops, I’m spoiling too much.

But hey, what can we do? He’s already escaped from the cameras, the secret paparazzi. He has already figured out that he’s living in a fake world made by his foster parents (a company). You know that you love a movie if you want more and you want to see what happens next. And that’s exactly want I want after watching this movie. This is Jim Carrey’s best movie I’ve ever seen so far, and it just made me give a lot more respect to him as an actor.

GRADE: A- (1 of only 23 with and A- or above)

I agreed with the majority

External Ratings:

Rotten Tomatoes: 95% Fresh, 8.2/10 Rating

Internet Movie Database: 8.0/10 User Rating (Top 223 all time)

Metacritic: 90/100

Leave a Reply

