Box Office Results May 6-8, 2011 [final update]

[update: Looks like I’m only 3 for 7 this week as Jumping The Broom and Something Borrowed trades places]

Looks like Thor hammered the competition this week by opening on par with Paramount’s $60-$70M prediction. Fast Five tumbled but it was already expected and two new releases also earned decent money for the week. Overall this week’s box office is looking at a $160M weekend. Quite great but it won’t beat the colossal weekend of last year when Thor’s pal Iron Man stormed in theaters.

Here are the results courtesy of deadline and boxofficemojo

Number One Movie Predicted Correctly: 2 Weeks in a Row

Number of Times I Nailed the Top 7: 1

1.) THOR – [updated: Final numbers are out and I guess you could say my Thor prediction was bullish indeed]. I had a lot of fun watching this one (alone) and I bet you will too especially when you have someone to talk to. Just stay inside the theater until the end of the credits because when I watched some people went out early and missed the “short scene” possibly included in the upcoming Avengers movie.

Predicted Outcome: Rank 1, $75.0M

Actual Gross: $65.7M

Total Gross: $65.7M


2.) Fast Five – As expected, the fifth installment of the Fast and the Furious franchise tumbled more than 62% this week. I wondered why early numbers showed that this one would earn $40M [update: I meant $40M in its second week]. With a front-loaded movie like this, it’s kinda impossible.

[updated: apparently, someone named Mink thought I was dissing on Fast Five and thinks I should be more objective. This is an article based on real box office results with a little bit of editorial on the side. Just wanna say something about the results dude.]

Predicted Outcome: Rank 2, $33.0M

Actual Gross: $32.4M

Total Gross: $139.8M


3.) JUMPING THE BROOM – Aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaand this is exactly the reason why these type of movies are hard to predict. Will moms arrive at the cinemas or will they decide to pass on this one. Sigh, you can never have too many correct predictions. [update: F*** these unpredictable movies. Damn! Now I’m 3 for 7…again! JTB even earned $1.5M more according to actual results]

Predicted Outcome: Rank 5, $7.4M

Actual Gross: $15.2M

Total Gross: $86.2M


4.) SOMETHING BORROWED – Finally! I nailed a movie which was expected to earn modestly! These type of movies are the ones that are hard to do since the margin of error is bigger than normal. Sometimes people can be unpredictable. The fate of these movies are in the hands of people who don’t want to watch any action this week. [update: Tsk…at least I almost nailed this one]

Predicted Outcome: Rank 3, $13.0M

Actual Gross: $13.9M

Total Gross: $13.9M


5.) Rio – If it wasn’t for the movie above this one I would’ve nailed all 7 correctly. But hey, who knows? Another miracle may happen and I might just have my second perfect score of the year! The only thing missing is a perfect gross prediction, which I believe will only happen when Fast and Furious 25 comes out.

Predicted Outcome: Rank 4, $9.6M

Actual Gross: $8.5M

Total Gross: $115.2M


6.) Water For Elephants – Not a lot to say to this one. It will be forgotten by everyone by the time Breaking Dawn Part I arrives in theaters

Predicted Outcome: Rank 6, $5.6M

Actual Gross: $6.1M

Total Gross: $41.7M


7.) Madea’s Big Happy Family – That’s it. I’m 3 of 7 for the week and I’m not satisfied. I hope I rebound from last weeks derby game, so wish me luck and we’ll see what happens next week!

Predicted Outcome: Rank 7, $4.2M

Actual Gross: $3.9M

Total Gross: $46.8M


Total Score: 3 out of 7, with a variance of $2.928571M per prediction.

2 thoughts on “Box Office Results May 6-8, 2011 [final update]

  1. Whoever wrote this is very bias. Pushing Thor on people is pathetic. Let’s try to be objective in your sorted reviews. It will not hit the big number fast 5 did. If it was not for 3d and all the other hype it would have flopped. This is a movie I would never be interested in.

    1. Well. Of course I’m bias. If you think about it, everyone is bias. But seriously, if you don’t like Thor or if you’re not interested in watching it, why bother opposing someone who liked the movie?

      My predictions won’t be correct all the time. I thought Thor had enough power to earn $75M, but even that won’t beat the colossal $86M opening of Fast Five. However, that $65M opening for Thor can’t be considered a flop at all! Regardless of 3D, you have to admit it had a good opening. Trust me, opening weekends aren’t everything. We all know Fast Five is bound to crash and burn in its succeeding weekends. I won’t be surprised if Thor eventually beats that movie in the long run. Heck, I’m not even sure if both movies can even crack $200M.

      And no, pushing Thor on people is not pathetic. It’s called a recommendation (or a word-of-mouth). If you haven’t noticed in my review, Thor is actually far from being my absolute favorite. Who knows, maybe after I watch Fast Five I’ll be pushing that one on people!

      OBJECTIVE in a REVIEW? That article wasn’t even a review. If you wanna talk about my review, comment at the right place.

Leave a Reply

