224th Movie Review: Road Trip (2000)

An average R-rated flick with nothing much to offer

[Note: For those of you who don’t know my style, I tend to write reviews with no editing whatsoever. I just try to dish out my thoughts right after watching a movie. Nevertheless, comments are greatly appreciated. Thanks for taking your time to read this!]

I’m not even sure if I’m allowed to watch this movie, but it was the only film in my laptop that was somewhat “light” and I want to finish the 17 movies in my desktop before I’ll begin searching for more flicks.

Josh and Tiffany (Amy Smart) have been together since they were kids. ENTER Beth, a sexy blonde going to college with Josh. One night, Josh and Beth hook up and make a videotape the same day that Josh plans to mail a video to Tiffany of him talking about college life. The wrong tape gets sent, forcing Josh, along with a few pals, to go to Austin, where Tiffany is, and stop her from seeing the tape. Full of laughs, you’ll be sure to enjoy Road Trip. – by Zac Abrams from imdb.com

Movies like Road Trip are actually hard to rate. You need to forgive them for being flawed and they mustn’t be taken seriously. So I guess if you don’t agree with my rating it all depends whether you like or dislike this genre. I had to say this beforehand, practically because the entire movie is absolutely flawed. Like, why would people stick around and keep listening to a tour guide who tells a story about Josh Parker’s (Breckin Meyer) life? How the heck could a visually-challenged girl notice E.L (Sean William Scott) rolling his eyes and feeding her dog?

But then again, as I said before, we have to forgive them and move on to the content of the movie. Actually, the film is kinda like a roller coaster. It has its ups and downs. There are plenty of hits and misses in the punchlines included in the dialogue, but overall I wasn’t that amused and there wasn’t actually a joke that made me laugh. I think the reason why I wanted to continue to watch was because I was interested in how Josh would handle the situation he was facing.

Unfortunately, the ending wasn’t that satisfying and I thought that the plot was ineffectively cut short. That’s interesting since the movie actually was a normal 90-minute feature.

Anyhow, after watching tons of movies that are “not safe for work (or school)”, I think it’s safe to say that Sean William Scott is the father of the R-rated films. A lot of raunchy movies I enjoyed had him but I thought that in this movie his cockiness (no pun intended) wasn’t utilized as much as his other films like American Pie.

In general, the movie was average and okay at best. It’s something that can help you kill time but you don’t have to watch it. I had mixed feelings for this one. Too bad I disliked it more than the opposite.

GRADE: C

I agreed with the majority

External Ratings:

Rotten Tomatoes: 58% Fresh, 5.9/10 Rating

Internet Movie Database: 6.4/10 User Rating

Metacritic: 55/100

Leave a Reply

