Box Office Predictions for July 8-10, 2011

My apologies once again for being a bit late with my predictions. Life sucks during this time of the year. Academics has affected my ability to predict box office grosses as I suffered a big drops in the derby rankings last week.

Dark of The Moon should retake the crown this week, while 2 new comedies will battle it out for second place.

Last Week’s Box Office Mojo Derby Rank: 376 (down 274 spots from last week) with 89.261% Accuracy (down 26.718%)

1.) TRANSFORMERS: DARK OF THE MOON – $44.5M – We rarely see movies stay at #1 for 2 weeks in a row these days. Only Hop and Rio were able to do that this year. Hopefully by Monday this film will join the club. Seen this movie already? Check my review to see if we have the same opinion!

2.) HORRIBLE BOSSES – $27.0M – I picked up from other movie sites that marketing for this movie has been intense! Based on what I’ve seen from the trailers, I believe moviegoers will choose this one over the other new comedy out this week. It has a good concept, a clear-enough plot, and a talented cast. Unfortunately, not even a better-than-expected outcome will topple the Autobots this week.

3.) ZOOKEEPER – $22.0M – Pretty much every critic wants this movie to fail badly, to the point that it’s considered a flop, or even worse, a BOMB. It has a horrible 13% Fresh Rating at Rotten Tomatoes and basen on ts movie posters, I don’t see why people would want to watch this movie. Why will it earn $22M? Because Kevin James appeals to the masses and most people don’t listen to critical opinion.

4.) Cars 2 – $13.5M – It’s at $200M worldwide right now. A little low when you’re talking about a Pixar movie that’s been in theaters for 3 weeks.

5.) Bad Teacher – $7.5M – Transformers 3 will earn more money this week than all other movies outside the top three combined.

6.) Larry Crowne – $6.7M – Harry Potter and The Deathly Hallows Part 2 is still 100% Fresh on Rotten Tomatoes, which makes me all the more excited. Sorry, I just had to sneak that in.

7.) Super 8 – $5.1M – I’m confident with my top seven this week. The only way I won’t nail the top 7 is if Zookeper overperforms and Horrible Bosses flops.

Leave a Reply

