Box Office Predictions for September 2-5, 2011 (The Help Three-Peats!)

Better late than never, right? Wow, it’s been a while since I last made a prediction so forgive me if I get it all wrong this week. I’ve had a tough August; please give me a free pass. 🙂

Welcome to September! The month of mediocre movies!

Anyway, this week is probably the most boring week of the year. Everyone’s recovering from Hurricane Irene, new movies are horrible, and summer season has just finished. The sum of all these should be a sub-$100M holiday weekend.

Last Last Week’s Box Office Mojo Derby Rank: 242 (down 169 spots) with an 72.613% accuracy (down 17.058%)

1.) The Help – $13.1M – Yes, Emma Stone will be having the first three-peat of her career. Not even Harry Potter could do that. I can already imagine the ads in the newspaper “The number 1 film in America for three weeks!“. An interesting achievement, since it could be the lowest-grossing movie to do that feat. This will definitely be included in my year in review.

2.) THE DEBT – $11.2M – Let me just clear this up…it’s a 4-day weekend this week. But these numbers I’m punching in right now are even lower than a blockbuster movie’s 1-day gross a couple of months ago. Sigh, how fast time flies…anyhow…

3.) APOLLO 18 – $11.1M – This film was delayed for two months and wasn’t screened for critics. I guess we all know what that means. Others were expecting a “Paranormal Activity” on space. All I can say is that, with its “D” cinemascore, it will burn next week.

4.) SHARK NIGHT 3D – $10.0M – Here’s another poorly-marketed 3D movie that never learned. I repeat: “When you go for 3D, make sure people have a “desire” to watch the movie. Otherwise, you’re doomed.”

5.) Columbiana – $6.8M – Zoe Saldana is the only person I can talk about here. Okay, now I have no one left to talk about.

6.) Rise of the Planet of the Apes$6.3M – This movie just passed $150M this week. Yey!

7.) Don’t Be Afraid of the Dark – $4.3M – Pardon my short comments. I’m a bit sleepy right now.

If you total everything, the top seven should earn about $62.8M. I haven’t seen those results since Bangkok Dangerous won the weekend with less than $10M.

Leave a Reply

