234th Movie Review: Pineapple Express (2008)

Good concept, Bad Delivery

It took 76 minutes before I actually began chuckling. I had to endure watching Seth Rogen and James Franco babble about weed for over an hour before the movie began picking up steam. Good thing Amber Heard and Danny McBride were there to keep me hanging on.

The movie involves a process server Dale Denton (Rogen) and his marijuana dealer Saul Silver (Franco) who end up getting in the middle of a battle between two drug lords after Dale witnesses a murder committed by Saul’s boss (Gary Cole). After leaving evidence near the scene of crime, Denton and Silver run for their lives while ruining everything they pass through and causing trouble to everyone along the way.

The whole film almost fell apart if it wasn’t for the climax which was definitely entertaining regardless if it gave a few laughs or not (for the record, I did giggle once). There wasn’t really anything to laugh about if you ask me. A couple of explosions and witty fight scenes may have stopped me from quitting halfway, but it wasn’t enough to convince me that this was a good movie. Maybe it’s because these types of movies aren’t made for the Filipino audience, or maybe the movies just wasn’t as good.

I have to give credits to Heard and McBride though. I was expecting Rogen and Franco to step up and lead the two, but it turns out they weren’t the ones who needed to be blamed for the dragginess of it all.

I didn’t know if I was missing something, but when I watched the film, it didn’t have a “steady tempo of low ball laughs” that most critics thought it had. All it was was a dull, stoned flick that I just wasn’t feeling.

GRADE: C-

I agreed with the MINORITY

RottenTomatoes: 68% Fresh, 6.3/10 Rating

Internet Movie Database: 7.1/10 User Rating

Directed by David Gordon Green

Leave a Reply

