Box Office (Late) Results: September 16-18, 2011

Sorry for the delay, I just had to finish a lot of stuff at school. Anyway, I’m set to go for the weekend so expect 3 new posts and maybe even a movie review if I still have time.

Last week was an off-week for my oracle powers as the number one film turned out to be The Lion King 3-D, which means my 5 week streak has been snapped. Here are the results!

Number One Movie Predicted Correctly: 0 Weeks in a Row

Number of Times I Nailed the Top 7: 5

1.) THE LION KING 3-D – Well, this is embarrassing. Disney’s re-release of their classic 1994 animated film managed to earn triple my prediction. That’s a 300% variance right there. 3D certainly is one of the factors of its huge success, but I feel like families just wanted to spend time with their kids, with the parents re-exploring their past while the kids discover this fantastic film for the first time.

Predicted Outcome: Rank 3, $8.9M

Actual Gross: $30.1M

Total Gross: $30.1M

 

2.) Contagion – Thanks to Contagion, I won’t be considering an early retirement. This saved me from actually getting all 7 spots wrong this week. Why am I telling this? Because from here on out the results will be far different from my expectations.

Predicted Outcome: Rank 2, $12.5M

Actual Gross: $14.5M

Total Gross: $44.2M

 

3.) DRIVE – I think in general I was a little to low with my predictions, except for this one. I actually had the weekend below $70M, good thing Simba, Timon and Pumba saved the weekend.

Predicted Outcome: Rank 1, $13.0M

Actual Gross: $11.3M

Total Gross: $11.3M

 

4.) The Help – 6 weeks into its release, it’s still keeping new movies from getting higher positions. Emma Stone should be happy to have her first $150M movie. Congratulations!

Predicted Outcome: Rank 6, $5.9M

Actual Gross: $6.5M

Total Gross: $147.4M

 

5.) STRAW DOGS – An abysmal opening weekend for a remake. ScreenGems is in panic mode right now.

Predicted Outcome: Rank 4, $8.4M

Actual Gross: $5.1M

Total Gross: $5.1M

 

6.) I DON’T KNOW HOW SHE DOES IT – Performing even worse this week is Sarah Jessica Parker’s pic. With a concept like that, I can’t say I’m surprised.

Predicted Outcome: Rank 5, $8.1M

Actual Gross: $4.4M

Total Gross: $4.4M

 

7.) The Debt – It had a good domestic run. It even got ranked in the top 7 and held off Warrior, which was booted off from the top ten after just a week.

Predicted Outcome: Rank N/A, $M

Actual Gross: $2.9M

Total Gross: $26.5M

 

TOTAL SCORE: 1 out of 7, with a variance of $5.0428571M per prediction (year-low)

Leave a Reply

