249th and 250th (Mini)Movie Review – The First Avenger – Captain America; Horrible Bosses

Happy New Year everyone! I’m a bit late with the greetings, but I’ll make it up to you by giving you three movie reviews! I didn’t have time (and energy) to make a full review so I’m going to provide you my opinion for two movies in a nutshell. Here it is and happy reading!

(I would like to announce that the weekly Box Office Forecast and Results will be halted indefinitely, due to my harsh academic life. I would like to thank everyone who enjoyed reading those articles and if the demand is high I would most certainly consider doing it again in the future)

249th (Mini)Movie Review: The First Avenger – Captain America

Avengers, assembled!

I thought Thor had better action than Captain America, but in terms of backstory, the captain’s was more intriguing. Much like the former, The First Avenger was a little cheesy at some parts. Johann Schmidt (Hugo Weaving), otherwise known as Red Skull didn’t seem too formidable for me. And sometimes I had a feeling that the machines and sets they included in the film was way ahead of time, considering it was 1942.

Captain America seemed more like a prelude to the Avengers rather than a standalone film, but with the film getting nearer I don’t think I can complain. Bottom line: the final hero was assembled nicely and they are good to go!

GRADE: B

I Agreed With the MAJORITY

Rotten Tomatoes: 79% FRESH, 6.9/10 Rating

Internet Movie Database: 6.9/10 User Rating

Metacritic: 66/100

250th (Mini)Movie Review: Horrible Bosses

More interesting than funny, but it still delivers

Horrible Bosses was light on comedy, but highly enjoyable. It had a unique story and fun and exciting characters. You’ll even end up loving to hate the bosses but they were all funny in their own annoying way. Here you get to see a lighter side of Jason Bateman. He’s accompanied by his pals P.J. Byrne and Charlie Day, and the bosses played by Kevin Spacey, Colin Farrell and Jennifer Aniston, who took me by surprise with her raunchy performance.

At the end of the day, I thought the bosses did better, but all six of them delivered. Even Michael J. Foxx had a good cameo performance. Like I said the film didn’t really give me laughs, but I found the story and the bosses very interesting which left me satisfied.

GRADE: B-

I Agreed With the MAJORITY

Rotten Tomatoes: 69% FRESH, 6.2/10 Rating

Internet Movie Database: 7.0/10 User Rating

Metacritic: 57/100

Leave a Reply

