My 10 Most Anticipated Films For The Rest of 2012 [PART II]

Wait! Before I get to my actual top 10, let me continue with a list of 10 more films which ALMOST made it, but got pushed down. And they’re more or less ranked from 20th to 11th. But make no mistake, all of them look good and there’s still a possibility that I’d catch each one in theaters depending on how others will react to it.

ALMOST MADE IT, BUT NOT QUITE

Life of Pi

Director: Ang Lee

The last (and only) Ang Lee film I’ve seen was 2003’s Hulk, and I ended up liking the 2008 incarnation more. Still, he’s a well-respected visual director, and his skill is quite obvious and impressive in the short preview. Not sure if the story is strong enough, but it could still be the surprise film of the year.

Alex Cross

Stars: Tyler Perry, Matthew Fox, Rachel Nichols

Tyler Perry in a serious role? I don’t know how that’ll work, as he’s more famous being Madea more than anything. No biggie though, I’m only anticipating it for Matthew Fox’s seemingly badass performance (and maybe a little bit of Rachel Nichols).

The Impossible

Stars: Ewan McGreggor, Naomi Watts

If I were one of those majorly affected by the 2007 SEA tsunami disaster, I might get offended by this film. But the story seems earnest enough to be respectable and artistic at the same time. The concept is 2012-esque, and I gave that one an A-, so maybe if people can convince me to see this film I’d give it a go.

Pitch Perfect

Stars: Anna Kendrick, Brittany Snow

It looks like a hipper version of High School Musical. And while I passed by it the first time, the second preview showed me that it could actually be great (refer to video). Along with the surprisingly vocally talented Anna Kendrick, this one could be a musical people will talk about for a long time aside from Les Miserables.

Fun Size

Stars: Victoria Justice, Johnny Knoxville, Chelsea Handler

Is it weird for me to like Victoria Justice and not watch Victorious? The Idea of Knoxville teaming up with a teen star honestly piques my interest. I just hope Justice is good enough to allow her to visit the big screen much more. Chelsea Handler is also featured here.

Flight

Stars: Denzel Washington, Don Cheadle

The trailer did a very good job of getting me intrigued, that’s for sure. Don’t have much to say about it, just take a look and decide for yourself. Directed by Robert Zemeckis (Forrest Gump).

Lincoln

Stars: Daniel Day-Lewis, Joseph Gordon-Levitt, Tommy Lee Jones

The most obvious OSCAR BAIT of them all (*cough* Spielberg)! But who cares, it actually looks good! And JGL is in here…plus points for that!

The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey 

Stars: Benedict Cumberbatch, Martin Freeman, Hugo Weaving, Elijah Wood, Evangeline Lilly, Cate Blanchett, Orlando Bloom, Christopher Lee, Ian McKellen, Andy Serkis

I know a lot of people are excited for this, but I’m not sure if I have the same opinion as the majority. Doesn’t seem to possess the epic scale of the LotR stories, and I’m not exactly crazy about that franchise either after that four-hour finale. But hey, the gang is back along with the guys from Sherlock. The more, the merrier!

Argo

Stars: Ben Affleck

Ben Affleck’s transition from an actor to a legit director has been smooth so far. And this one’s already earned great reviews over at RottenTomatoes (as well as strong word-of-mouth from American moviegoers). This was originally in my Top 10 until a couple of films snuck themselves in at the last minute.

Breaking Dawn Part II

Stars: Kristen Stewart, Robert Pattinson, Taylor Lautner, Ashley Greene, Maggie Grace, Dakota Fanning,  Nikki Reed, Michael Sheen, Kellan Lutz

And the last honorable mention goes to… the epic conclusion to the most polarizing vampire drama the world has ever witnessed! Hey, what’s this film doing here? This one belonged to the “Not Really Feelin'” section until a few hours ago when Summit released an extended trailer showing what could actually be the only “fresh” film of the franchise (though I highly doubt it). And I’ve always dissed each of the movies since New Moon but end up giving unbelievably decent grades for it (Twilight – C+, New Moon – C, Eclipse – B, Breaking Dawn Part 1 – C+). Now I’m raising my expectations yet again. It’s a love-hate relationship for me. But despite all that, it didn’t make my Top 10. Too bad.

Leave a Reply

