My 10 Most Anticipated Films For The Rest of 2012 [PART III]

So this is it – the 10 films that I’ll prioritize seeing in theatres. These are the movies I’d recommend seeing the most based on their trailers, plot sypnosis, or the overall vibe it exudes. Some of these have already been released, so I apologize for being a tad late. I also want to mention Holy Motors, a movie starring Eva Mendes and Kylie Minogue which I wasn’t able to notice before and is now getting some good buzz. But it’s too late to change my list now.

Without further ado, here it goes!

MY TOP 10

10. Smashed 

Starring: Mary Elizabeth Winstead, Aaron Paul, Octavia Spencer

A married couple whose bond is built on a mutual love of alcohol gets their relationship put to the test when the wife decides to get sober.

The one thing that’s bugging me is that I’m not even sure if it will be released here (in the Philippines). I’m a big fan Mary Elizabeth Winstead. She’s the only reason why I’m eager to watch this film and there have been talks about her Oscar chances. I hope that’s true because my expectations for her is way high and I hope her popularity gets to rise even more after this.

9. Silver Linings Playbook

Starring: Bradley Cooper, Jennifer Lawrence

After a stint in a mental institution, former teacher Pat Solitano moves back in with his parents and tries to reconcile with his ex-wife. Things get more challenging when Pat meets Tiffany, a mysterious girl with problems of her own.

Based on critics’ consensus, this one looks like the frontrunner for best picture. Even my favorite critic over at Rope Of Silicon gave an A+. Jennifer Lawrence will give Winstead a run for her money for best actress as well. Even Bradley Cooper could get his first nod. But I bet it won’t stay there for long, as is always the case.

8. Les Miserables

Starring: Hugh Jackman, Anne Hathaway, Russell Crowe, Amanda Seyfried

An adaptation of the successful stage musical based on Victor Hugo’s classic novel set in 19th-century France, in which a paroled prisoner named Jean Valjean seeks redemption.

Thought the previous adaptation with Liam Neeson, Geoffrey Rush and Uma Thurman was great. So this one I’d definitely like to see. Although I still don’t get the point why they had to remake it quite soon but Hathaway and Jackman’s potential to elevate this film  turned things around for me. Their short stint during the 2009 Academy Awards was quite impressive.

7. Hitchcock

Starring: Anthony Hopkins, Helen Mirren, Scarlett Johannson, Jessica Biel

A love story between influential filmmaker Alfred Hitchcock and wife Alma Reville during the filming of Psycho in 1959.

The tandem of Anthony Hopkins and Helen Mirren should be a delightful watch. I haven’t seen any of Alfred Hitchcocks films, but the concept of the movie piqued my interest a lot. Scarlett Johannson and Jessica Biel will draw in a broader demographic as well.

6. The Man With The Iron Fists

Starring: Russell Crowe, Lucy Liu, RZA, Jamie Chung, Dave Bautista (Batista)

On the hunt for a fabled treasure of gold, a band of warriors, assassins, and a rogue British soldier descend upon a village in feudal China, where a humble blacksmith looks to defend himself and his fellow villagers.

Oh man, give the trailer a watch. I bet you’d put it in your top 10 as quickly as I put it in mine. Seriously, it looks so badass. And Batista’s here!

5. Wreck-it-Ralph

Starring: John C. Reilly, Sarah Silverman, Jane Lynch

A video game villain wants to be a hero and sets out to fulfill his dream, but his quest brings havoc to the whole arcade where he lives.

The animated film which I hope will exceed expectations and trump Brave (Pixar seriously needs to get their mojo back). I’m not saying that Pixar films have already become bad because I haven’t seen any of them in the past couple of years, but I feel like they need to be motivated a bit more. Take this for example. Brilliant concept, looks funny and the story already seems quite touching at first glance. That’s something you don’t see a lot anymore with animation.

4. Looper

Starring: Joseph Gordon-Levitt, Bruce Willis, Emily Blunt

In 2074, when the mob wants to get rid of someone, the target is sent 30 years into the past, where a hired gun awaits. Someone like Joe, who one day learns the mob wants to ‘close the loop’ by transporting back Joe’s future self.

This is when I apologize for not being able to release this article quick enough. This one takes on time-traveling and adds in a little twist to separate it from the rest. It also stars JGL and Willis, whose films I enjoy most of the time. Having high expectations for it and I really hope it gets met.

3. Django Unchained

Starring: Leonardo DiCaprio, Samuel L. Jackson, Christoph Waltz, Jonah Hill, Jamie Foxx

With the help of his mentor, a slave-turned-bounty hunter sets out to rescue his wife from a brutal Mississippi plantation owner.

Inglorious Basterds was one of the best of 2009 and should’ve won Best Picture if they just didn’t want to give it to Avatar (seriously, The Hurt Locker?). Very thrilled to see Quentin Tarentino’s work again andcheck how Leo DiCaprio will fare as a villain.

2. Cloud Atlas

Shorter trailer: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pQFAPeaJOf8

Starring: Tom Hanks, Halle Berry, Hugo Weaving, Jim Sturgess, Bae Doo Na

An exploration of how the actions of individual lives impact one another in the past, present and future, as one soul is shaped from a killer into a hero, and an act of kindness ripples across centuries to inspire a revolution.

Did you see the trailer for Avatar? How did you feel? Well, check the trailer for this one. Tell me if you don’t feel the same way. Although recent events say it’s not the BEST film out there, the concept, the effects, and the incredibly long screen time will probably guarantee that you’d get the best value out of your money. It almost made my #1, but one had to give.

1. SKYFALL

Starring: Daniel Craig, Bérénice Marlohe, Ben Whishaw, Javier Bardem, Ralph Fiennes, Naomie Harris

Bond’s loyalty to M is tested as her past comes back to haunt her. As MI6 comes under attack, 007 must track down and destroy the threat, no matter how personal the cost.

Adele,  new Q,Bérénice Marlohe, Daniel Craig’s last Bond film, James Bond in action. 007 isn’t even one of my favorite franchises but the way they presented Skyfall bested all other movies set to be released this quarter. My hopes are extremely high for this film, and looks like director Sam Mendes could actually exceed it and make incredible things happen. Seeing it on IMAX in a few weeks so I’d tell you right away if it’s good or not. But you don’t even have to wait for my opinion or any other person’s to find out. Just go see it!

S

o this is it – the 10 films that I’ll prioritize seeing in theatres. These are the movies I’d recommend seeing the most based on their trailers, plot sypnosis, or the overall vibe it exudes. Some of these have already been released, so I apologize for being a tad late. I also want to mention Holy Motors, a movie starring Eva Mendes and Kylie Minogue which I wasn’t able to notice before and is now getting some good buzz. But it’s too late to change my list now.

Without further ado, here it goes!

Leave a Reply

