289th Movie Review: The Dark Knight Rises

An epic conclusion to an epic franchise

After I saw this film I was giving it so much praise and even proclaimed it as the best film in the trilogy. Scratch that. The truth is, I initially wrote this review having remembered my experience while watching The Dark Knight four years ago. The sound quality when I saw that film was so horrible that I gave it a B-. But when I gave it another viewing it was such a slap in the face that I instantly changed my rating to an A. So now I believe TDKR is the second-best film. But with a franchise this good, does it even matter?

I’ll give this to Rises though: it has the best and most comprehensible story out of the three Christopher Nolan adaptations. But Heath Ledger’s take on the iconic Joker is still enough to outdo it, although you can argue that the two are not exactly comparable.

Still, Rises did a good job of mixing fresh and old faces, just like Marion Cotillard and Michael Caine,who are ever present in Nolan’s films. The addition of Anne Hathaway, Joseph Gordon-Levitt, and Tom Hardy was a wise decision as well and each brought their own individual charm with their characters.

 

I commend Nolan for managing to make the conclusion as cohesive as possible. He really gave closure to almost all of the question marks left by the previous two films, save the ending (you know what I mean). I’ve got nothing else to say except congratulations to those responsible for bringing Batman back to life. And although the franchise wasn’t my favorite growing up, I think it’s safe to say that Nolan’s take on it will be something I’ll recommend and remember for a long, long time.

(Tune in for my review of Batman Begins and The Dark Knight soon!)

GRADE: A-

7 thoughts on “289th Movie Review: The Dark Knight Rises

    1. Hey Natasha. Sure but try to inform me every now and then where you’ll be using my posts. Like giving me a link or something. Thanks though, it’s very well appreciated.

  1. Woah! I’m really loving the template/theme of this blog. It’s simple, yet effective.
    A lot of times it’s very hard to get that “perfect balance” between user friendliness and visual appeal. I must say you’ve
    done a fantastic job with this. Additionally, the blog loads super
    fast for me on Firefox. Exceptional Blog!

    1. Hey there! I’m actually using Choco. Had a very difficult time searching for a great theme and when I previewed this one I just couldn’t say no. Thanks for the comment!

  2. Gday! My name is Sylvia and I just desired to say your web
    site rocks! It truly is funny due to the fact I
    use to have a blog site that practically had an identical web address:
    https://topyxyz.wordpress.com/2012/10/27/289th-movie-review-the-dark-knight-rises/ mine was only a few
    letters different. Nonetheless, I am a big supporter
    of your blog site and if you ever would like a guest post make
    sure you email me at: sylvia-whitaker@gmail.com. I love writing!

  3. Hi! Quick question that’s totally off topic. Do you know how to make your site mobile friendly? My web site looks weird when browsing from my iphone. I’m trying to
    find a template or plugin that might be able to fix this problem.
    If you have any suggestions, please share. Many thanks!

    1. Hey there, I think there are ways to make wordpress mobile friendly, I’m just not sure as to specifics. When I check my blog via mobile it’s seems okay though, you only scroll up and down and it adjusts the size of the font and pictures automatically.

Leave a Reply

