Movie Review #294: The Lord of the Rings: The Return of the King

A 242-minute spectacle that could’ve been better had they split it

With the grandness and scale of it all, it’s hard to imagine any other film beating it for Best Picture. But while I commend the amount of work that the director, cast and crew has put into the franchise, I still think that it’s heavily ruined by its unbelievable 4-hour screening time which makes watching it overly tedious leading to the final act.

Don’t get me wrong, the story is top-notch and the acting and direction outstanding. It’s just that in my opinion the excellence of the film was deeply overshadowed by the time, and as a result I couldn’t enjoy the film as much as I wanted to. In fact, if I were to choose between watching the epic battle scene at the end or catching it some other time, I’d probably pick the latter. It just seemed too monotonous for me although most people will argue it’s not. Maybe people who enjoyed the books or die hard LotR fans would beg to disagree, but I think I would’ve given the finale a higher grade had they cut the film into two parts.

GRADE: C+

2 thoughts on “Movie Review #294: The Lord of the Rings: The Return of the King

    1. I think I would’ve enjoyed it a lot more had I been older when I first saw it in theaters. Maybe when I revisited it this year I wasn’t totally eager to commit 4 hours for it anymore, and that weighed heavily on my grade.

Leave a Reply

