Movie Review #318: The Phantom of the Opera

An absolute bore

As much as I like Gerard Butler and as much as I try not to hate Emmy Rossum, starring in a film that’s so lifeless and wearisome is unforgivable. I never cared about their characters and nor did I have any kind of attachment with them despite them trying. The pace of the movie was extremely slow that sometimes it’s unbearable. I can say that their only saving grace came from the moments where they sang, but when they stopped it felt like a nightmare. I guess opera isn’t really my cup of tea and while I disliked the film, it might be due to its polarizing tendency. So I could still see some people enjoying this film as long as they are patient with it. But as far as I’m concerned, it was downright horrible.

GRADE: D+

Leave a Reply

