Movie Review #329: Brave

Still definitely entertaining, but I feel like something’s missing

Brave has rich visuals but poor story, and that pretty much describes it. It still has that Pixar vibe, but afterwards you’ll realize something’s lacking. One of those is definitely your emotional attachment to the characters, and in this case Pixar’s first lead heroine, Merida. I wasn’t really moved by her story and the setting wasn’t that interesting, but the animation surely helped in covering the flaws. Maybe I just had very high expectations, but I was a little disappointed. On a side note, I don’t think they deserved the win at the Golden Globes. A couple of films clearly outdid Brave this year and I’ll just have to wait and see if the Academy agrees as well. But hey, I’d recommend watching it anyway.

GRADE: B-

Leave a Reply

