Movie Review #356: Star Wars Episode IV – A New Hope

A revolutionary world with a few flaws

Star Wars fans forgive me, but I don’t think the trio of Mark Hamill, Carrie Fisher and Harrison Ford were compelling enough in their roles. It’s unfortunate because in a ground breaking film, most often people overlook the cast and ponder about the universe they’re in (ex. Avatar). But it’s a good thing the Star Wars setting is immensely expansive than most films, because if there’s one thing you don’t like in it, there are still plenty of other stuff to explore and enjoy.

This was the first time I was fully immersed into the Star Wars world as I was still too young to fully grasp the force upon my initial viewing. I was even confused with the sequencing of the films and like others who were born after the first trilogy, ended up seeing 1, 2 and 3 first before A New Hope. It’s difficult to put myself in the shoes of those who were blown away by its groundbreaking visual effects in the 70’s, but if you compare it with other effects-ridden titles released around that time it’s definitely top notch. I can’t undo what I’ve seen for the past decade, but at least despite the lesser technology of the first Star Wars film I still found the visuals fun to watch.

For a film that’s titled itself episode 4 with sequels looming, George Lucas does a good job of making it stand alone. I think what makes it all work is its strong story. It also revolves around charismatic people (and robots, and other sentient life forms) which I believe still have room to grow in terms of character development. And yes, the planets are interesting and it would be nice to explore more of them in future instalments. It’s a good movie but as of now, I’m not totally hooked. Maybe my next visit will eventually win me over, and I’m very hopeful about that.

GRADE: B

Leave a Reply

