Box Office Results Feb 11-13, 2011

Finally, we have a competitive weekend at the box office for 2011! Although the week still paled in comparison from last year (about 27% lower), this weekend’s top 12 managed to gross $135M in sales. The top two movies are within $1M from each other, so the winner could still change by tomorrow. Here’s the results:

Number One Movie Predicted Correctly: 1 Week in a row
Number of Times I nailed the Top 7: 0
Jennifer Aniston and Adam Sandler in Just Go With It

1.) Just Go With It – With a budget of $80M, I don’t think studios will be happy. Even so, Sandler’s number of $100M hits grow to 11, while Jennifer Aniston breaks the curse of her recent flops (The Bounty Hunter), proving that she still has enough star power to prevent a kid from reaching the top. And that kid is…

Predicted Outcome: Rank 1, $34.2M

Actual Gross: $31M

Total Gross: $31M

2.) Justin Bieber: Never Say Never – Bieber fever propelled female audiences to give an “A+” Cinemascore, that’s even higher than The Social Network and Inception! Bieber crushes The Jonas Brothers but falls against the queen of 3D concerts, Miley Cyrus by $0.9M. Too bad.

Predicted Outcome: Rank 2, $30M

Actual Gross: $30.3M

Total Gross: $30.3M

3.) Gnomeo and Juliet – Apparently, kids wanted to see this movie. It’s gross doubled my prediction, so I’m starting to lose confidence after almost nailing the top 2 slots. Damn! The next animated movie is Rango, but that’s still in March, so I guess G&J has a shot to be the first movie to reach $100M this year. Yikes!

Predicted Outcome: Rank 3, $12.5M

Actual Gross: $25.5M

Total Gross: $25.5M

4.) The Eagle – Unlike the number three movie, this one underperformed. I knew I was bullish with my double-digit prediction, I just thought Channing Tatum and Jamie Bell had enough star quality to rake in the dollars. Too bad.

Predicted Outcome: Rank 4, $11M

Actual Gross: $8.6M

Total Gross: $8.6M

5.) The Roommate – 5 for 5 and still going strong! Actually, The Roommate dropped a little smaller than I expected. It’s not normal for a horror movie to fall by less than 50%, but I guess the flick was hot enough to ease by only 44%.

Predicted Outcome: Rank 5, $7.2M

Actual Gross: $8.4M

Total Gross: $26.1M

6.) The King’s Speech – Damn it! I was this close from nailing the top seven. This will reflect on my stats. Anyway, The King’s Speech is my bet for Best Picture, even though I think The Social Network or Inception deserves it more. But what can I do? I’m just a blogger sharing my opinions. Sigh… Oh, and it only dropped 3%, good job! It’s about to reach $100M too, along with Black Swan. The line-up of the Best Picture nominees are benefiting from the drought of good movies, about 5 films are set to crack $100M!

Predicted Outcome: Rank 7, $5.9M

Actual Gross: $7.4M

Total Gross: $93.9M

7.) No Strings Attached – If only more couples watched this movie…Oh man, I was so close. It only dropped by 30%, even so, it’s not enough to beat the King. With a $25M budget, I hope the studio’s happy with this one.

Predicted Outcome: Rank 6, $6M

Actual Gross: $5.6M

Total Gross: $59.9M

Leave a comment